We'll Hide Away: Complete Recordings 1993-1995

release date:

August 11, 2023



Stream & Follow

Pressing information

Limited edition first pressing on opaque grey and cloudy clear vinyl with 12 page booklet of live images, old flyers, and commentary from friends of the band.


  1.  Intro/Homestead
  2.  Nibble
  3.  Jim Thorpe *
  4.  Pause
  5.  Springboy
  6.  Trout
  7.  Hickory
  8.  Anthem *
  9.  Void
  10.  The Thrills of a Race Car Driver
  11. Jay *‡
  12. Breathe ‡
  13. See Through ‡
  14. Untitled *‡

* Previously Unreleased

‡ Streaming/Download only

release notes

“We’ll Hide Away rages with seamless abandon. Exceptionally sequenced, it translates as a fully-fleshed album. An invaluable snapshot of boundary-crossing Midwestern hardcore.” – Bandcamp Daily
“There’s an energy to Grain’s work that’s absolutely infectious… Grain didn’t do just one thing, and in their brief career created a body of work that ought to press multiple buttons for most listeners.” — Invisible Oranges

Grain were a punishingly loud post-hardcore band who left their mark everywhere they played. Simultaneously angry, urgent, and beautiful in a single 30 minute set, they left hardcore purists confused while others wanted more. They were punk, both philosophically and from a community standpoint, and yet not so easy to pigeonhole musically.

In their short time together Grain released two 7”s, a split 7” with Harriet The Spy, and three songs that appeared on a couple different compilation LPs. Grain played close to 100 shows, completed a short tour of the northeast in 1994, and a month-long US tour in 1995. They shared the stage with bands like Lincoln, Kerosene 454, Ordination of Aaron, Current, Samuel, Harriet The Spy, Thumbnail, Avail, and Archers of Loaf before breaking up in 1995. 

We’ll Hide Away is a complete discography of Grain’s recorded material. It is also a snapshot into the mid 90s post hardcore sound of the Midwest. This vinyl only release has 10 tracks (+ 4 additional tracks available to stream and download), an extensive booklet with never before seen live pictures, show flyers, and written memories from friends and bands. Everything was painstakingly remastered by Dave Gardner at Infrasonic Mastering in Los Angeles and sequenced in a way that both captures the evolution of their sound and pays homage to the memory of Ryan Rinella (1975-2010) and his time with the band.

release credits

Ryan August Rinella - Vocals

Brian Strazek - Guitar, Vocals

Brian Noga - Guitar, Vocals

Dean Eshleman - Bass, Vocals

Jason "Jay" Kuebler - Drums

All songs © ℗ 2023 Grain

All songs remastered by Dave Gardner at Infrasonic Mastering in Los Angeles, August 2022

Design and layout by Michael D. Thorn

Under Exclusive License to Solid Brass Records

© 2023 Solid Brass Records

other releases

Coming soon!