release date:

August 25, 2023



Stream & Follow

Pressing information

Limited edition first pressing on black and ultra clear vinyl with a 2 sided printed insert.


  1. Neolith Nonce
  2. Sigil Pathos
  3. To The Last Recorded Syllable of Time
  4. A Heavy Involvement In Unreality
  5. Lexicorpus Grimoire
  6. Sunshine Super Hits
  7. Traipsing Elegiac

release notes

“Soliloquy meets psychedelia as the SF semi-goths ‘timely rip’ us a new album, Distal, genre-blended and aged like a fine Zinfandel. Solid gold via Solid Brass.” — Echoes & Dust
“[Taps] into the haunted atmosphere of their early recordings while imbuing them with a hypnotic, psychedelic glow… A thrilling return that marks a new era of creativity for the group.” — Treble

20 years after the band’s last proper album Alter was released on Sub Pop,  Pleasure Forever returns with a new mini-album titled Distal. It is as hard to characterize as they’ve always been.

Heavy hitting rock tendencies frame their continuing exploration of 60s psychedelia and peculiarly warped feel of classic rock from an alternate universe, dashed with hypnotic and minimal rhythms reminiscent of heady Krautrock. Distal will appeal to fans of The Doors, The VSS, CAN, Amon Düül II, Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, Roxy Music, and (later era) Damned.

Following the surprising and untimely deaths of old friends, tour mates and family in recent years, vocalist/keyboardist Andrew Rothbard, drummer Dave Clifford and guitarist Joshua Hughes reconnected and a frenzy of trading files of home recordings ensued. A new batch of songs came together rather quickly and the band self-recorded and mixed the 7 tracks that became Distal.

The three members formerly played together in synth-punk pioneers The VSS in the mid-90s. In the two decades between Alter and Distal they released a collection of B-sides and cover songs Bodies Need Rest in 2007 and went on to explore other musical projects. Rothbard has released multiple solo albums under his full name Andrew Douglas Rothbard, Clifford played drums in instrumental post-metal band Red Sparowes, as well as Marriages, Jail Weddings and more, and Hughes sang and played guitar in Relapse Records sludge metal trio Rabbits.

release credits

Andrew Douglas Rothbard - Words, vocals, piano, acoustic guitar, Juno 60

Dave Clifford - Lead and Rhythm Drums

Joshua Hughes - Guitars, Moog

Recorded and mixed by Pleasure Forever, February - October 2022. Mastered by Dave Gardner at Infrasonic Mastering in Los Angeles, CA. Artwork by Joshua Hughes. Design and layout by Sonny Kay.

other releases

Coming soon!